Kożuchów – monuments

The parish church of the Purification of the Blessed Virgin Mary was built in the 13th century as a modest, stone, one-nave building (according to the legend, it was supposed to have been established by Bolesław Krzywousty in 1125). Numerous reconstructions, modernizations and extensions caused that today the church is a three-nave building made of stone and brick. The main body of the church is maintained in the Gothic style, the tower and its roof present a Baroque style, while the vaulting of nave and the presbytery was rebuilt in the Renaissance, Matejki Square.

The defensive walls, the first ring of stone walls was built at the turn of the 13th and 14th centuries and was surrounded by a 20 m wide moat. In the 15th century the whole ring of fortifications was erected. The town was entered through three gates (Głogowska, Żagańska and Krosno), and from the second half of the 15th century, through four gates, which were demolished in 1819. The only remnant of the gates is the tower of Krosno Gate.

Krosno Tower – in the north-western part of the town it was a gate through which a road to Krosno Odrzańskie led. It is a three-storey stone bastion with shooting holes (colloquially called "the tower" by the locals). Currently, part of the building has been converted into a flat, and the remaining part houses the Regional Chamber with a collection of memorabilia and exhibits relating to Kożuchów.

The oldest Kożuchów Town Hall, dating back to the 14th century, was most probably a wooden structure that burnt down during the fire of 1488. The next town hall was built in the late-Gothic style in 1489, as a two-story brick building. It was rebuilt many times in the years 1554, 1637, 1769 after subsequent fires of the town. In the 19th century, it was rebuilt to give it a neoclassical character. During the Second World War the Town Hall was destroyed. In 1963-1969 it was rebuilt on the remains of the Gothic wall on the northern side and the nineteenth-century neoclassical eastern wall. These relics were combined with modern contemporary architecture. The Gothic town hall tower was also rebuilt after it collapsed in 1963


The public task is co-financed from the funds received from the Marshal's Office of the Lubuskie Voivodeship